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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
Many states increased fees to offset budget shortfalls in 2003.  According to the National 
Council of State Legislators, 30 states raised more than 200 fees for nearly $2.6 billion in 
new revenue. (source NCSL) 
 
For fiscal year 2004 the Illinois General Assembly passed legislation to enhance revenue to 
deal with the current Illinois budget situation.  SB 1903 passed both chambers and was 
signed into law by the Governor on June 20, 2003 becoming Public Act 93-0032.  This Act 
contains many provisions that will increase numerous fees and penalties and provide for the 
transfer of funds in an effort to generate additional revenue.  Listed below are the 
highlights of the various components of Public Act 93-0032: 
 
• To address a shortfall in revenue, hundreds of millions of dollars in various funds will 

be transferred both into and out of the General Revenue Fund as deemed necessary.  
(See Section II and III:  Fund Transfers) 
 

• Public Act 93-0032 grants additional authority to the Director of the Governor’s Office 
of Management and Budget.  Public Act 93-0032 authorizes the Director of the 
Governor’s Office of Management and Budget to direct the State Comptroller and the 
State Treasurer to transfer funds from any fund held by the State Treasurer to the 
General Revenue Fund.  With certain exception, the total amount transferred from any 
fund cannot exceed the lesser of 8% of the revenues to be deposited into that fund 
during the fiscal year or 25% of the beginning balance in the fund. 
 

• The majority of Public Act 93-0032 consists of various fee and penalty increases.  
According to the Illinois Budget in Brief document released by the Governor’s Office of 
Management and Budget, there are almost 1,500 fees that are collected by the State of 
Illinois.  Attached is a detailed list of the more than 300 fees and penalties that have 
been increased.  The additional amounts generated by the fee increases will be allocated 
between the General Revenue Fund and the fund otherwise entitled to receive the fee.  
The allocation will be determined by the Director of the Governor’s Office of 
Management and Budget.  The Governor’s Office of Management and Budget estimates 
the fee increases will generate $318.9 million in additional revenue. 

 
According to the Illinois State Budget in Brief, the Department of Revenue will be charged 
with the collection of almost 1,500 non-tax fees that the State of Illinois collects.  The 
Department of Revenue has indicated the fee collection consolidation will not begin until 
January 2004, and will be phased in over the fiscal year.  Under the Governor’s fee 
collection consolidation initiative, the Department of Revenue will: 
 
• Assure full and consistent appliance of and compliance with fee requirements. 
• Standardize and distribute payment forms to agencies. 
• Receive, record, and deposit payments with a highly automated, centralized system. 
• Notify agencies of payment credit. 
• Track, prioritize, and collect late payments with greater focus than individual agencies. 
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• Monitor fee levels to provide competitive analysis and market considerations for user 
services. 

 

To accurately track fee increases, the Illinois Economic and Fiscal Commission will rely 
upon the various State agencies to provide estimates and statistical data to the Commission 
in accordance with 25 ILCS 155/6.  This Act requires all State officer’s and agencies to 
render to the Commission any assistance that may be required for the purpose of preparing 
reports and recommendations for the General Assembly.  The Commission requested the 
assistance of various State agencies in the formulation of revenue estimates from the fee 
and penalty increases included in this report.  The Illinois Department of Revenue will be 
utilized extensively in the future to provide actual figures for these fee increases. 
 
The Governor’s Office of Management and Budget projects that the fee increases proposed 
in P.A. 93-0032 will generate an additional $318.9 million in revenue; while information 
provided to IEFC totals $302.0 million.  Listed below are the revenue projections from the 
Governor’s Office of Management and Budget and the Commission broken down by 
agency: 
 

 GOMB IEFC 
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency $55 million $49.8 million 
Illinois Commerce Commission $2.6 million $1.4 million 
Industrial Commission $31 million $30.6 million 
Department of Insurance $16.6 million $19.4 million 
Illinois State Police/State Treasurer $11.0 million $5.0 million1 

Department of Natural Resources $1.2 million $2.1 million 
*Office of the State Fire Marshall $1.1 million $1.1 million2 

Office of Banks and Real Estate $25.4 million $25.8 million3 

Department of Revenue $40.7 million $33.7 million 
Secretary of State $122.3 million $121.4 million 
Department of Agriculture $2.2 million $2.2 million 
Capital Development Board $3.5 million $3.5 million 

Illinois Department of Financial Institutions $4.6 million $4.5 million 
Department of Public Health $1.7 million $1.5 million 
Total $318.9 million $302.0 million 
 
*Not included in SB 1903 (P.A. 93-0032) 
 
1Categorized under the Illinois State Police by the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget.  However, 
according to (P.A. 93-0032) the Office of the Treasurer will be charged with the collection of these fees as 
they are remitted by the various Circuit Clerks to the State.  Estimates for this fee were provided by the Office 
of the Treasurer.   
 
2The fee increase for the Office of the State Fire Marshall was not included in S.B. 1903 (P.A. 93-0032).  In 
order to estimate a total, the IEFC used estimates from the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget. 
 
3S.B. 1903 (P.A. 93-0032) only contained approximately $2 million of the total $25.4 million estimated new 
revenue for the Office of Banks and Real Estate.  According to the Governor’s Office of Management and 
Budget, $23.4 million will be generated by rule changes. 
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Penalty increases are noted by bold type Page 1 

DEPT. OF AGRICULTURE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Weights and Measurers 
Serviceperson Certificate Fee 

225 ILCS 
470/8.1 

AG $5 $25 $1,100,000.00 

Weights and Measures 
annual fee for a special 
sealer certificate 

225 ILCS 
470/8.1 

AG $25 $50 See Above 

Weights and Measurers 
Service Agency Certificate 

225 ILCS 
470/8.1 

AG $25 $50 See Above 

Annual registration of a 
pesticide product 

415 ILCS 60/6 AG $130 per 
product 

$200 per 
product 

$700,00.00 

Business registration fee of a 
pesticide product 

415 ILCS 60/6 AG $300 $400 See Above 

Annual experimental use 
permit and special local 
needs permit 

415 ILCS 60/6 AG $130 per 
permit 

$200 per 
permit 

See Above 

Penalty for late registration 
of a pesticide product 

415 ILCS 60/6 AG $200 per 
product 

$300 per 
product 

See Above 

Commercial feed distribution 
fee 

505 ILCS 30/6 AG 16 cents per 
ton 

20 cents per 
ton 

$100,000.00 

For pet food and specialty 
pet food which are 
distributed in the State in 
packages of 10 pounds or 
less 

505 ILCS 30/6 AG $50 $75 See Above 

Fertilizer custom mixer fee 505 ILCS 80/4 AG $25 or $5 per 
mixture 

$50 or $10 
per mixture 

$100,000.00 

Registration for each brand 
and grade of fertilizer 

505 ILCS 80/4 AG $5 per grade 
within a brand 

$10 for a 
grade 

within a 
brand 

See Above 

For the inspection of 
commercial fertilizers and 
custom mixture fee 

505 ILCS 80/6 AG .20 cents per 
ton 

.25 cents 
per ton 

$200,000.00 

For the inspection of 
commercial fertilizers or 
custom mixes containing 
5 lbs. or less, or if in liquid 
form less than 4,000 cubic 
centimeters 

505 ILCS 80/6 AG .20 cents per 
ton 

.25 cents 
per ton 

See Above 

For the inspection of 
commercial fertilizers or 
custom mixtures larger than 
5 lbs. Or 4,000 cubic 
centimeters 

505 ILCS 80/6 AG .20 cents per 
ton 

.25 cents 
per ton 

See Above 

Department Totals $2,2000,000 
 



 

Penalty increases are noted by bold type Page 2 

 

DEPT. OF INSURANCE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fee for filing an application as 
an advisory or ganization 

215 ILCS 
5/123A-4 

DOI $25 $50 * 

For issuance of eligibility to 
issue a workers’ compensation 
and employers’ liability 
insurance policy 

215 ILCS 100/55 DOI $500 $1,000 * 

Penalty for noncompliance 
with the Reinsurance 
Intermediary Act 

215 ILCS 100/55 DOI Not to exceed 
$50,000 

Not to exceed 
$100,000 

* 

Health Care Purchasing Group 
Fee 

215 ILCS 123/20 DOI $100 $200 * 

Service contract provider 
Registration Fee 

215 ILCS 152/25 DOI $500 for initial 
fee and $75 
each year 
thereafter 

$1,000 for 
initial fee and 

$150 each 
year thereafter 

* 

Application for a Viatical 
Settlement Provider 

215 ILCS 158/10 DOI $1,500 $3,000 * 

Annual renewal fee for Viatical 
Settlement Provider 

215 ILCS 158/10 DOI $750 $1,500 * 

For filing trust amendments and 
instruments 

215 ILCS 5/1108 DOI $25 $50 * 

For copies of papers or records 215 ILCS 5/1108 DOI $1 $2 * 
For certificate to copy of paper 215 ILCS 5/1108 DOI $5 $10 * 
Filing for risk retention trust 215 ILCS 5/1108 DOI $500 $1,000 * 
Penalty when a hearing 
results in the finding of a 
knowing violation 

215 ILCS 5/1020 DOI $500 for each 
violation but 
not to exceed 

$10,000 

$1,000 for 
each violation 

but not to 
exceed 
$20,000 

* 

Penalty when company 
violates a cease and desist 
order 

215 ILCS 5/1020 DOI No more than 
$10,000 for 

each violation 

No more 
than $20,000 

for each 
violation 

* 

Penalty when company 
violates a cease and desist 
order, and the Director of the 
Dept. of Insurance determines 
that violations have occurred 
with such frequency as to 
constitute a general business 
practice 

215 ILCS 5/1020 DOI No more than 
$50,000 

 No more 
than 

$100,000 

* 

Penalty for willfully or 
repeatedly failing to comply 
with the article requiring each 
insurer offering property or 
casualty insurance to record 
and report its loss and 
expense experience, et al. 

215 ILCS 5/1204 DOI Not to exceed 
$1,000 

No to exceed 
$2,000 

* 

Maximum forfeiture imposed 
by Section 1204 

215 ILCS 5/1204 DOI Not to exceed 
$50,000 

Not to exceed 
$100,000 

* 

Unauthorized insurer penalty 215 ILCS 5/121-19 DOI $10,000 $20,000 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Risk retention group fee 215 ILCS 

5/123B-4 
DOI $100 $200 * 

Filing fee for captive Insurance 
Co. 

215 ILCS 
5/123C -17 

DOI $3,500 $7,000 * 

Change in plans for operations 
fee 

215 ILCS 
5/123C -17 

DOI $100 $200 * 

Civil Forfeiture penalty 
ceiling for violating Act 

215 ILCS 
5/131.24 

DOI Not more than 
$50,000 per 

violation 

Not more 
than 

$100,000 per 
violation 

* 

Insurance business offense 
fine increase 

215 ILCS 
5/131.24 

DOI Up to $250,000 Up to 
$500,000 

* 

Individual criminal fine for 
violating act 

215 ILCS 
5/131.24 

DOI Up to $250,000 Up to 
$500,000 

* 

Fine for false reports, 
statements or filings with the 
intent to deceive the Director 

215 ILCS 
5/131.24 

DOI Up to $250,000 Up to 
$500,000 

* 

Penalty for a managing 
general agent who does not 
comply 

215 ILCS 5/141a DOI Not more than 
$50,000 per 

violation 

Not more 
than 

$100,000 per 
violation 

* 

Penalty for misrepresenting 
the terms of a policy 

215 ILCS 5/149 DOI Not less than 
$100 but no 
more than 

$5,000 

Not less than 
$200 but no 
more than 

$10,000 

* 

Penalties imposed on domestic 
societies 

215 ILCS 
5/310.1 

DOI Sum not 
exceeding 

$5,000 

Sum not 
exceeding 
$10,000 

* 

Penalties against a person 
who willfully makes false 
statements in or related to an 
application or for the purpose 
of obtaining money from, or a 
benefit 

215 ILCS 
5/315.4 

DOI Not less than 
$100 but no 
more than 

$5,000 

Not less than 
$200 but no 
more than 

$10,000 

* 

Penalty for a person who 
solicits membership for any 
society not licensed to do 
business in this State 

215 ILCS 
5/315.4 

DOI Not less than 
$50 no more 

than $200 

Not less than 
$100 no more 

than $400 

* 

Any other penalty under this 
act which isn’t already 
prescribed 

215 ILCS 
5/315.4 

DOI $5,000 $10,000 * 

Bond requirement for officers 
of associations 

215 ILCS 5/325 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

Penalties for companies who 
have been found in violation 
of this section dealing with 
Supplemental Medicaid 
Insurance 

215 ILCS 5/363a DOI Not less than 
$250 and no 
more than 

$2,500 

Not less than 
$500 and no 
more than 

$5,000 

* 

Civil penalty for advertising a 
Medicaid supplement that is 
not approved by the Director 
of the Dept. of Insurance 

215 ILCS 5/363a DOI $5,000 $10,000 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Petty offense fine associated 
with non-compliance with this 
article 

215 ILCS 5/370 DOI Not exceeding 
$500 

Not 
exceeding 

$1,000 

* 

Penalty against a person 
subpoenaed who fails to 
comply with the subpoena 

215 ILCS 5/403 DOI Not exceeding 
$1,000 

Not 
exceeding 

$2,000 

* 

Fine for failing to comply 
with code 

215 ILCS 5/ 
403A 

DOI Not exceeding 
$1,000 

Not 
exceeding 

$2,000 

* 

Maximum forfeiture imposed 
in a civil penalty 

215 ILCS 5/ 
403A 

DOI $250,000 $500,000 * 

Fee charged by Director of 
Dept. of Insurance with the 
Director as attorney for such 
service 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $10 $20 * 

Incorporation article fee 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 
Organization of Fraternal 
Benefit Society 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $250 $500 * 

Amending article Fee 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 
Amending articles by a 
fraternal benefit society 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

Farm Mutual Fee 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 
Bylaw or amendment 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 
Merger or Consolidation fee for 
a domestic company 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

Foreign or Alien Government 
Fee 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $300 $600 * 

For a Fraternal Benefit society 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 
Filing Fee for foreign or alien 
companies to conduct business 
in Illinois 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $2,500 $5,000 * 

Foreign or Alien Fraternal 
Benefit Society 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $250 $500 * 

Filing Declaration of Withdraw 
for an alien insurance company 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 

Filing annual statement fee 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 
Filing annual statement for a 
Farm Mutual 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 

Certificate of Authority to 
renew 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 

Certificate of Authority to 
renew for a Fraternal Benefit 
Society 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

Amended Certificate of 
Authority 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 

Certified Copy of Certificate of 
Authority 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $10 $20 * 

Each certificate of deposit, or 
valuation, or compliance 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $10 $20 * 

Issuing permit to sell shares or 
paid up capital in connection 
with a public stock offering 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $150 $300 * 

In any other case 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Insurance of any other 
certificate required or 
permissible bylaw 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 

For filing a plan of change of 
stock of a domestic insurance 
company or a plan of 
reorganization 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

Filing a State of Acquisition of 
a domestic company 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

For filing a plan to purchase an 
organization under the Dental 
Service Plan Volunteer Health 
Service Plan, or a Health 
Maintenance Organization 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

For acquisition of a foreign or 
alien insurance company 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $1,000 * 

Filing a registration statement 
which designates the Director 
as its agent for the purpose of 
receiving service of legal 
documents 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 

Filing for an application for 
licensing of a religious 
organization pooling trust or a 
workers’ compensation pool 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $1,000 * 

Filing for an application for a 
worker’s compensation service 
company 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $250 $500 * 

Filing for a self insured 
automobile fleet 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 

Renewal Fee for renewal or 
amendment of any license 
issued 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

Filing articles of incorporation 
for a syndicate 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

For filing amended articles of 
incorporation for a syndicate 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

Filing articles of incorporation 
for a limited syndicate 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $1,000 * 

For filing amended articles of 
incorporation for a limited 
syndicate 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

For a permit to solicit 
subscriptions to a syndicate or 
limited syndicate 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $50 $100 * 

For filing each form 215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25 $50 * 
Fee for advisory and rating 
organizations 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 

For filing an application for 
licensing of an intermediary 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $250 $500 * 

Renewal Fee for reinsurance 
intermediary 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $200 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is less than $500,000 
and there is no reinsurance 
assumed premium 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $150 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is more than $500,000 
but less than $5,000,000 and 
there is no reinsurance 
premium, or if the premium is 
less than $5,000,000 and the 
reinsurance assumed risk is less 
than $10,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $750 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is less than 
$5,000,000 and the reinsurance 
assumed premium is less than 
$10,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $2,500 $3,750 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is $5,000,000 or more 
but less than $10,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $5,000 $7,500 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is $10,000,000 or 
more, but less than 
$25,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $12,000 $18,000 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is $25,000,000 or 
more, but less than 
$50,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $15,000 $22,500 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid by every domestic 
company for examination if the 
premium is $50,000,000 or 
more, but less than 
$100,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $20,000 $30,000 * 

Annual financial regulation fees 
paid to every domestic company 
for examination if the premium 
is $100,000,000 or more 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25,000 $37,500 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are less than $1,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $150 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $1,000,000 but 
less than $5,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $750 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $5,000,000 but 
less than $25,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $2,500 $3,750 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $25,000,000 but 
less than $50,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $5,000 $7,500 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $50,000,000 but 
less than $100,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $12,000 $18,000 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $100,000,000 but 
less than $500,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $15,000 $22,500 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $500,000,000 but 
less than $1,000,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $20,000 $30,000 * 

Fees on admitted assets if assets 
are more than $1,000,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25,000 $37,500 * 

Maximum sum of the financial 
regulation fees charged to 
domestic companies of the same 
affiliated group 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100,000 $250,000 * 

Fees charged to foreign or alien 
companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is less than 
$500,000 and there is no 
reinsurance assumed premium 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $150 * 

Fees charged to foreign or alien 
companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$500,000 but less than 
$5,000,000 and there is no 
reinsurance assumed premium 
is less than $5,000,000 and the 
reinsurance assumed premium 
is $10,000,000 or more 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $500 $750 * 

Fees charged to foreign or alien 
companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is less than 
$5,000,000 and the reinsurance 
assumed premium is 
$10,000,000 or more 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $2,500 $3,750 * 

Fees charged to foreign or alien 
companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$5,000,000 but less than 
$10,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $5,000 $7,500 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fee charged to foreign or alien 
companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$10,000,000 but less than 
$25,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $12,000 $18,000 * 

Fees charged to foreign or 
alien companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$25,000,000 but less than 
$50,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $15,000 $22,500 * 

Fees charged to foreign or 
alien companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$50,000,000 but less than 
$100,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $20,000 $30,000 * 

Fees charged to foreign or 
alien companies for the costs of 
examination and analysis of its 
financial condition if the 
premium income is more than 
$100,000,000 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $25,000 $37,500 * 

Maximum sum of the financial 
regu-lation fees charged to 
foreign companies of the same 
affiliated group 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100,000 $250,000 * 

Fees for an organization or 
person not subject to financial 
regulation 

215 ILCS 5/408 DOI $100 $150 * 

Additional Penalty when any 
insurance company or any 
surplus line producer fails to 
file any tax returns 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI $200 or 5% of 
the amount 

taxed 
whichever is 

greater 

$400 or 10% 
of amount 

taxed 
whichever is 

greater 

* 

Maximum penalty amount 
imposed on insurance 
companies who fail to file any 
tax returns 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI $1,000 or 25% 
of the tax due 
whichever is 

greater 

$2,000 or 
50% of the 

tax due 
whichever is 

greater 

* 

Penalty when any insurance 
company or any surplus line 
producer fails to pay the full 
amount 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI 5% of the 
deficiency 

10% of the 
deficiency 

* 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Penalty for the willful failure 
to pay 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI 25% of the 
deficiency or 

5% of the 
amount due 

and unpaid for 
each month or 

part of a month 
that the 

deficiency 
remains unpaid 

50% of the 
deficiency or 
10% of the 
amount due 
and unpaid 

for each 
month or 
part of a 

month that 
the deficiency 

remains 
unpaid 

* 

Penalty imposed if any 
insurance company fails to 
pay the full amount of any fee 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI Failure to pay 
any fee of $100 
or more there 

will be a 
penalty of $50 
or an amount 
equal to 5% of 
the deficiency 

for each month 
or part of a 

month that the 
deficiency 

remains unpaid 

Failure to 
pay any fee 
of $200 or 
more there 
will be a 

penal-ty of 
$100 or an 

amount equal 
to 10% of the 
deficiency for 
each month 
or part of a 
month that 

the deficiency 
remains 
unpaid 

* 

Penalty for violating a cease 
and desist order 

215 ILCS 5/412 DOI Not to exceed 
$500 

Not to exceed 
$1,000 

* 

Nonrefundable fee for pre-
licensing course of study 

215 ILCS 5/445 DOI $10 $20 * 

Annual license fee for surplus 
line insurer 

215 ILCS 5/445 DOI $200 $400 * 

Surplus line taxes and penalty 
for late payment 

215 ILCS 5/445 DOI 3% of the gross 
premiums less 

returned 
premiums on 

all surplus line 
insurance 

procured or 
cancelled 

during the 
preceding 6 

months 

3.5% of the 
gross pre-
miums less 
re-turned 

pre-miums on 
all surplus 

line in-
surance pro-
cured or can-
celled during 
the preceding 

6 months 

* 

Civil penalty that could result 
from the suspension or 
revocation imposed on a 
surplus line producer 

215 ILCS 5/445 DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Penalty imposed on any 
insurance provider which 
after review by the Dept. of 
Insurance violates any part of 
the recommendation or 
written orders of the Director 

215 ILCS 5/500-
110 

DOI Not more than 
$10,000 

Not more 
than $20,000 

* 

Reinstatement fee for a licensee 
whose license is on inactive 
status 

215 ILCS 5/500-
120 

DOI $50 plus the 
current 

applicable 
license fee 

$100 plus the 
current 

applicable 
license fee 

* 

Insurance Producer License Fee 215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $150 every two 
years 

$180 every 
two years for 

Illinois 
resident, $250 

once every 
two years for 
a person who 

is not a 
resident 

* 

Temporary Insurance Producer 
License 

215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $25 $50 * 

Business Entity Fee 215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $50 every two 
years 

$150 every 
two years 

* 

Limited Line Producer License 215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $25 $50 * 

Application Fee to take written 
examination 

215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $25 $50 * 

Annual Registration for an 
education provi der 

215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $500 $1,000 * 

Certification Fee for continuing 
education course 

215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $25 $50 * 

Renewal of Certification 
annually 

215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $10 $20 * 

Car Rental Limited Line license 215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $50 every two 
years 

$180 for a 
person who is 
a IL resident 
every two 

years $250 for 
a person who 

is not a 
resident every 

two years 

* 

For other limited line license 215 ILCS 5/500-
135 

DOI $150 every two 
years 

$200 every 
two years 

* 

Civil penalty for a denial, 
suspension, or revocation of a 
license for an insurance 
producer 

215 ILCS 5/500-
70 

DOI Penalty up to 
$5,000 but no 

more than 
$20,000 

Penalty up to 
$10,000 but 

no more than 
$100,000 

* 

Filing Fee 215 ILCS 5/511. 
103 

DOI $100 $200 * 

Annual Fee for license 215 ILCS 5/511. 
103 

DOI $100 $200 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fine imposed if the Director 
finds one or more grounds 
exist for the revocation or 
suspension of an 
administrators license 

215 ILCS 
5/511.110 

DOI Up to $5,000 
for each 

violation, can 
not exceed 

$25,000 

Up to 
$10,000 for 
each viola-

tion, can not 
exceed 
$50,000 

* 

Public Insurance Adjuster 
license fee 

215 ILCS 
5/512.63 

DOI $30 $100 * 

Registration of Firms 215 ILCS 
5/512.63 

DOI $20 $100 * 

Application Fee to take 
adjusters exams 

215 ILCS 
5/512.63 

DOI $10 $20 * 

Premium Finance License 215 ILCS 
5/513a4 

DOI $200 $400 * 

Additional penalties for 
revocation, denial or 
suspension 

215 ILCS 
5/513a7 

DOI $1,000 $2,000 * 

Fee for copy of Illinois Fair 
Plan 

215 ILCS 
5/529.5 

DOI $5 $10 * 

Fine for failing to comply 
with an assessment or a plan 
of operation 

215 ILCS 5/544 DOI $100 per  
month 

$200 per 
month 

* 

Pension Compliance Fee 40 ILCS 5/1A-
112 

DOI .007% of total 
assets of 

Pension Fund 
not to exceed 

$6,000 

.02% of 
assets up to 

$8,000 

* 

    Total Estimated New Revenue $19,444,777* 
      

*Because the Department of Insurance does not track fees by statute it was not possible to place new revenue 
projections in the format of this report.  However, a worksheet was provided by the DOI to assist the Commission 
with revenue estimates.  Following is the Department’s list of new estimated revenue. 
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DEPT. OF INSURANCE 
FY 2004 Estimated New Revenue 

 FY 2004 Estimated New Revenue 
  
Annual Statement Fee $69,400 
Corporate Document $72,625 
Certificate Fee $110,782 
Policy Form Filing $288,397 
Miscellaneous (Summons) $35,000 
Cost Containment $0 
Annual Statement Fee $104,225 
Surplus Lines Licenses $100,400 
Corporate Document $141,165 
Certificate Fees $195,767 
Policy Form Filings $558,558 
Rcpt. And Etc. $3,883 
Miscellaneous (Summons) $15,695 
Domestic Fin. Regulation $1,400,000 
Domestic Fin. Regulation Fee $965,750 
Foreign Fin. Regulation Fee $2,000,000 
Foreign Fin. Regulation Fee $1,797,400 
Financial Exam Travel $0 
    Total Financial Regulation $7,859,047 
  
Producer – Licenses $5,307,410 
Producer – Reinstatement Fines $0 
Producer – Appointment Fees $479,650 
Producer – Provider Education Fee $236,415 
Market Conduct Exams $425,250 
Producer – Fines and Penalty $0 
Market Conduct Travel $0 
Producer – Miscellaneous $45,000 
    Total Producer Administration $6,493,725 
  
Public Pension Fees $971,400 
    Total Pension Regulation $971,400 
  
Surplus Line Tax $4,120,605 
  
Estimated Total for New Revenue FY 2004 $19,444,777 

 



 

Penalty increases are noted by bold type Page 13 

 

DEPT. OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fee for identification 
registration for watercraft 16 
feet or more but less than 26 
feet 

625 ILCS 45/3-2 DNR $20 $45 $1,769,475 

Fee for identification 
registration for watercraft 26 
feet or more but less than 40 
feet 

625 ILCS 45/3-2 DNR $25 $75 $261,750 

Fee for identification 
registration for watercraft 40 
feet or more 

625 ILCS 45/3-2 DNR $30 $100 $38,160 

Fee for lost registration decal 
for watercraft 

625 ILCS 45/3-7 DNR $1 $5 $21,160 

    Department Total $2,100,545 
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DEPT. OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Nursing Home Application 
Fee 

210 ILCS 45/3-103 IDPH $200/year or 
$400 for a 
two year 
license 

$500 for 0-49 
beds, 

$750 for 50-99 
beds, 

$1,000 for more 
than 100 beds 

$1,462,215 

    Department Totals $1,462,215 
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ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Sewer construction with a design 
population of 1 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA $50 $100 $600 

Sewer construction with a design 
population of 2 to 20 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA $200 $400 $49,600 

Sewer construction with a design 
population greater than 20 but 
less than 101 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA $400 $800 $176,400 

Sewer construction with a design 
population greater than 100 but 
less than 500 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA $600 $1,200 $318,600 

Sewer construction with a design 
of 500 or more 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA $1,200 $2,400 $121,200 

Fee for any industrial wastewater 
source that does not require 
pretreatment of the wastewater 
prior to discharge 

416 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA  $1,000 $50,000 

Fee for any industrial wastewater 
source that does require 
pretreatment of the wastewater 
for nontoxic pollutants prior to 
discharge 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA  $3,000 $195,000 

Fee for any industrial wastewater 
source that requires pretreatment 
for the wastewater for toxic 
pollutants 

415 ILCS 5/12.2 IEPA  $6,000 $750,000 

Construction related to land 
application of industrial sludge or 
spray irrigation 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $2,500 $25,000 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
of less than 100,000 gallons 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $1,500 $1,204,500 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
at least 100,000 gallons but less 
than 500,000 per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $5,000 $1,700,000 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
at least 500,000 gallons but less 
than 1,000,000 per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $7,500 $787,500 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
at least 1,000,000 gallons but less 
than 5,000,000 per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $15,000 $2,085,000 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
at least 5,000,000 gallons but less 
than 10,000,000 per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $30,000 $690,000 

Public owned treatment facilities 
with a Design Average flow rate 
at least 10,000,000 or more 
gallons a day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $50,000 $1,800,000 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
NPDES permits for treatment 
works or sewer collection 
systems that include combined 
sewer overflow. For systems 
serving a tributary population of 
10,000 or less 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $1,000 $26,000 

NPDES permits for treatment 
works or sewer collection 
systems that include combined 
sewer overflow.  For systems 
serving a tributary population of 
10,000 but not more than 25,000 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 $170,000 

NPDES permits for treatment 
works or sewer collection 
systems that include combined 
sewer overflow.  For systems 
serving a tributary population of 
25,000 or more 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $20,000 $740,000 

Additional fees for NPDES 
permits for coal mines 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 $500,000 

Additional fees for mines other 
than coal 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 $1,560,000 

Additional fees for NPDES 
permits for industrial activity 
where toxic substances are not 
regulated. For a facility with a 
Design Average Flow Rate of 
less than 10,000 gallons per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $1,000 $189,000 

Additional fees for NPDES 
permits for industrial activity 
where toxic substances are not 
regulated. For a facility with a 
Design Average Flow Rate of 
more than 10,000 gallons per day 
but less than 100,000 per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $2,500 $355,000 

Additional fees for NPDES 
permits for industrial activity 
where toxic substances are not 
regulated. For a facility with a 
Design Average Flow Rate of 
more than 100,000 gallons per 
day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $10,000 $1,580,000 

For NPDES permits where toxic 
substances are regulated, and the 
facility has an Average Flow 
Rate of no more than 250,000 
gallons per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $15,000 $2,370,000 

For NPDES permits where toxic 
substances are regulated, and the 
facility has an Average Flow 
Rate of more than 250,000 
gallons per day 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA   $20,000 $1,160,000 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
For NPDES permits for 
industrial activity classified by 
the USEPA as a major discharge 
for a facility where toxic sub-
stances are not regulated 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $30,000 $480,000 

For NPDES permits for 
industrial activity classified by 
the USEPA as a major discharge 
for a facility where toxic sub-
stances are regulated 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $50,000 $3,250,000 

NPDES fee for a construction 
site or industrial storm water 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $500 $1,237,500 

Fee for authorizing sludge on 
land with a sludge generator 
permit 

415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $2,500 $1,275,000 

Sludge user permit 415 ILCS 5/12.5 
New 

IEPA  $5,000 $90,000 

Fee for State water quality 
certification 

415 ILCS 5/12.6 
New 

IEPA  $350 or 1% of 
gross value of 
the proposed 

project 
whichever is 

greater, but not 
to exceed 
$10,000 

$249,000 

Construction permit to install or 
extend a water main that is more 
than 200 feet but not more than 
1,000 feet 

415 ILCS 5/16.1 IEPA $120 $240 $44,880 

Construction permit to install or 
extend a water main that is more 
than 1,000 feet but not more than 
5,000 feet 

415 ILCS 5/16.1 IEPA $360 $720 $237,240 

Construction permit to install or 
extend a water main that is more 
than 5,000 feet 

415 ILCS 5/16.1 IEPA $600 $1,200 $127,200 

Non-hazardous waste disposal 
fee for more than 150,000 cubic 
yards (fee per cubic yard) 

415 ILCS 5/22.15 IEPA   Paid to 
municipalities  

Maximum limit on fees collected 
for non-hazardous solid waste 

415 ILCS 5/22.15 IEPA Not to 
exceed 

$1.05 per 
cubic yard 
or $2.22 
per ton 

Not to exceed 
$1.55 per cubic 
yard or $3.27 

per ton 

Paid to 
municipalities  

Fee for owner or operator to pay 
for disposal site containing 
100,000 cubic yards but not 
more than 150,000 cubic yards 

415 ILCS 5/22.15 IEPA $25,000 $52,630 $55,260 

Non-hazardous waste disposal 
fee for more than 150,000 cubic 
yards.  Fee per ton of solid 
waste 

415 ILCS 5/22.15 IEPA .95/ton $2.00/ton $12,170,729 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fee for owner or operator to pay 
for disposal site containing 50,000 
cubic yards but not more than 
100,000 cubic yards 

45 ILCS 5/22.15 IEPA  $11,300 $23,790 $74,940 

Fee for owner or operator to pay 
for disposal site containing 10,000 
cubic yards but not more than 
50,000 cubic yards 

415 ILCS 
5/22.15 

IEPA  $3,450 $7,260 $7,620 

Fee for owner or operator to pay 
for disposal site containing not 
more than 10,000 cubic yards 

415 ILCS 
5/22.15 

IEPA  $500 $1,050 $550 

Fees for sanitary landfills if more 
than 150,000 cubic yards of non-
hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year 

415 ILCS 
5/22.44 

IEPA  5.5 cents per 
cubic yard or 

12 cents per ton 

10.1 cents per 
cubic foot or 22 

cents per ton 

Paid to 
municipal-ities 

Fees for sanitary landfills if more 
than 150,000 cubic yards of non-
hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year.  Fee per ton 

415 ILCS 22.44 IEPA .12 cents per 
ton 

.22 cents per ton $992,966 

Fees for sanitary landfills if not 
more than 150,000 cubic yards of 
non-hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year 

415 ILCS 
5/22.44 

IEPA  $3,825 $7,020 $6,390 

Fee for sanitary landfills if more 
than 50,000 cubic yards but not 
more than 100,000 cubic yards of 
non-hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year 

415 ILCS 
5/22.44 

IEPA  $1,700 $3,120 $8,520 

Fees for sanitary landfills if more 
than 10,000 cubic yards but not 
more than 50,000 cubic yards of 
non-hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year 

415 ILCS 
5/22.44 

IEPA  $530 $975 $890 

Fees for sanitary landfills if not 
more than 10,000 cubic yards of 
non-hazardous solid waste if 
permanently disposed during a 
calendar year 

415 ILCS 
5/22.44 

IEPA  $110 $210 $100 

Fees collected from owners or 
operators of hazardous waste 
disposal sites receiv-ing hazardous 
waste if the disposal site is located 
off the site where the waste was 
produced 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $35,000 $70,000 
beginning in 

2004 

$70,000 

Fees collected from owners of 
operators of hazardous waste 
disposal sites receiving hazardous 
waste if the disposal site is located 
on the site where the waste was 
produced 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $9,000 $18,000 
beginning in 

2004 

$18,000 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fees collected from owners or 
operators of hazardous waste 
disposal sites receiving hazardous 
waste if the disposal site is located 
in an underground injection well 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $7,000 $14,000 
beginning in 

2004 

$14,000 

Fee collected by an owner or 
operator of a hazardous waste 
facility treating waste by 
incineration 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $2,000 $4,000 beginning 
in 2004 

$8,000 

Fee collected by an owner or 
operator of a hazardous waste 
facility treating waste by any means 
other than incineration 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $1,000 $2,000 beginning 
in 2004 

$15,000 

Fee collected by an owner or 
operator of a hazardous waste 
facility treating waste in a surface 
impoundment or pile 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $1,000 $2,000 beginning 
in 2004 

$6,000 

Fee collected by an owner or 
operator of a hazardous waste 
facility treating waste other than in 
a surface impoundment or pile 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $250 $500 beginning 
in 2004 

$8,250 

Fee for a large quantity hazardous 
waste generator to submit an annual 
or biennial report for hazardous 
waste generation 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA   $500 
beginning in 

2004 

$514,000 

Fee for manifests provided by the 
agency 

415 ILCS 5/22.8 IEPA  $1 per manifest $3 per  
manifest 

$976,941 

Fee for a source allowed to emit 
less than 100 tons per year 

415 ILCS 5/39.5 IEPA  $1,000 per year $1,800 per  
year 

$355,200 

Annual fee for a source to allow 
more than 100 tons or more of any 
combination of air pollutants 

415 ILCS 5/39.5 IEPA  $13.50 per ton 
but no more 

than $100,000 

$18.00 per ton 
but no more 

than $250,000 

$4,489,663 

Fee for each potentially infectious 
medical waste 

415 ILCS 5/56.4 IEPA  $2.00 $4.00 $342,342 

Medical Waste Hauling Application 
Fee 

415 ILCS 5/56.5 IEPA  $1,000 $2,000 $15,000 

Fee for transporting medical waste 
with permit 

415 ILCS 5/56.6 IEPA  1.5 cents per 
pounds 

3 cents per 
pound 

$679,500 

Fee for transporting medical waste 
without a permit 

415 ILCS 5/56.6 IEPA  1.5 cents per 
pound 

3 cents per 
pound 

See Above 

Fee for storing medical waste only 
if fee was not paid by transporter 

415 ILCS 5/56.6 IEPA  1.5 cents per 
pound 

3 cents per 
pound 

See Above 

Construction permit fees for air 
pollution sources 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $4,000 for the 
first emissions 

unit $1,000 
for each 

additional 
emissions 

unit, cannot 
exceed 
$10,000 

* 



 

Penalty increases are noted by bold type Page 20 

 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Modifying emissions unit 415 ILCS 5/9.12 

New 
IEPA   $2,000 for first 

modified 
emissions unit 
and $1,000 for 
each additional 

unit, cannot 
exceed $5,000 

* 

Emissions unit not subject to this 
act 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 * 

A construction permit from a 
commercial incinerator, 
municipal waste, hazardous 
waste, tire waste incinerator, 
commercial power generator 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $25,000 * 

Construction permit for a 
emissions netting exercise 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $3,000 per 
pollutant 

* 

New major source subject to the 
federal PSD program 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $12,000 * 

New major source subject to non-
attainment new source review 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $20,000 * 

For a major modification subject 
to the Federal PSD Program 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $6,000 * 

Modification subject to non-
attainment new source review 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $12,000 * 

Review involving a determination 
of whether an emissions unit has 
clean unit status 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 per  
unit 

* 

Involves determination of the 
Maximum Achievable Control 
Technology 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $5,000 per  
unit 

* 

Construction permit to alter the 
sources status so that it is no 
longer a major source 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $4,000 * 

Fee for public meeting regarding 
construction permit application 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $10,000 * 

Base fees for construction permit 
for single emissions unit 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $500 * 

Base fee for construction permit 
application involving 2 modified 
emissions units 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $500 * 

Base fees for a construction 
permit application for 2 or more 
emissions units 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $1,000 * 

Supplemental fees if the source is 
a new source and does not 
currently have an operating 
permit 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $500 * 

If the construction permit 
application involves a new source 
such as an incinerator, municipal 
waste, hazardous waste, a 
commercial power generator 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $15,000 * 

Administrative fee for public 
hearing 

415 ILCS 5/9.12 
New 

IEPA   $10,000 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
If no other fee is applicable 415 ILCS 5/9.12 

New 
IEPA  $500 * 

Air pollution operating permit fee 415 ILCS 5/9.6 IEPA  Less than 25 
tons per year of 
air pollutants, 
$100 per year 

Becomes 
$200 per 

year 

$517,800 

Air pollution operating permit fee 415 ILCS 5/9.6 IEPA  At least 25 tons 
but less than 

100 tons, 
$1,000 

Becomes 
$1,800 per 

year 

$510,800 

Air pollution operating permit fee 415 ILCS 5/9.6 IEPA  At least 100 
tons per year, 

$2,500 per year 

Becomes 
$3,500 

$262,000 

    Department Totals $49,806,715 
 
*Unknown at this time.  The IEPA estimates that there will be approximately $2 million in additional revenue from 
construction permit fees.  This amount has been included in the total amount for the IEPA. 
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ILLINOIS COMMERCE COMMISSION 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Changes for public utility 
companies to issue stocks 

220 ILCS 5.6-
108 

ICC 10 cents for 
every $100 of 

the par or 
stated value of 

stocks 

12 cents for 
every $100 of 

the par or 
stated value of 

stocks 

$-25,244.00* 

Charges for public utility 
companies to issue bonds 

220 ILCS 5.6-
108 

ICC 20 cents for 
every $100 

24 cents for 
every $100 

$-1,701,558* 

Railroad mileage fee per 
route mile 

625-ILCS 5/18C-
1502.05 

ICC $37 per mile $45 per mile $56,105.28 

Railroad Highway Grade 
Crossing and Grade 
Separation Fee 

625 ILCS 18C -
1502.10C 

ICC $23 for each 
location at 

which the rail 
carriers track 

crosses a 
public 

highway 

$28 for each 
location that a 
rail carriers 

track crosses a 
public highway 

$54,940.00 

Franchise Fee for motor 
carriers 

625 ILCS 18C -
1502.10C 

ICC Not to exceed 
$5 

Not to exceed 
$15 

$1,166,850.00 

Department Totals $1,423,010.22 
 

 

*Comments: Estimated revenue has been calculated by comparing FY03 data to projected FY04 data.  In the two 
columns above when Estimated Revenue shows a negative amount, the Governor’s Office of Management and 
Budget’s project $100,000, in additional revenue from both of these increases.  Since FY03 was an extraordinary 
year for securities, and the Illinois Commerce Commission is projecting significantly less securities for FY04 and, 
when multiplied a negative amount was achieved. 
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DEPT. OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets of 
$25,000 or less) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $100 $150 $50 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$25,000 and not over 
$100,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $100 plus $4 per 
$1,000 of assets 

in excess of 
$25,000 

$150 plus $6 
per $1,000 in 

excess of 
$25,000 

$758 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$100,000 and not over 
$200,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $400 plus $3 per 
$1,000 of assets 

in excess of 
$100,000 

$600 plus 
$4.50 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 
$100,000 

$1,315 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$200,000 and not over 
$500,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $700 plus $2 per 
$1,000 of assets 

in excess of 
$200,000 

$1,050 plus $3 
per $1,000 in 

excess of 
$200,000 

$9,622 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$500,000 and not over 
$1,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $1,300 plus 
$1.40 per $1,000 

of assets in 
excess of 
$500,000 

$1,950 plus 
$2.10 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 
$500,000 

$29,395 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$1,000,000 and not over 
$5,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $2,000 plus $.50 
per $1,000 of 

assets in excess 
of $1,000,000 

$3,000 plus 
$.75 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 

$1,000,000 

$147,080 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$5,000,000 and not over 
$30,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $4,000 plus $.35 
per $1,000 of 

assets in excess 
of $5,000,000 

$6,000 plus 
$.525 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 

$5,000,000 

$496,093 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$30,000,000 and not over 
$100,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $12,750 plus 
$.30 per $1,000 

of assets in 
excess of 

$30,000,000 

$19,125 plus 
$.45 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 

$30,000,000 

$336,925 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$100,000,000 and not over 
$500,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $33,750 plus 
$.15 per $1,000 

of assets in 
excess of 

$100,000,000 

$50,625 plus 
$.225 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 

$100,000,000 

$835,444 

Regulatory Fees (Credit 
Unions Total Assets over 
$500,000,000) 

205 ILCS 305/12 IDFI $93,750 plus 
$.05 per $1,000 

of assets in 
excess of 

$500,000,000 

$140,625 plus 
$.075 per 
$1,000 in 
excess of 

$500,000,000 

$232,961 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Title Insurance Company 
registration (Retroactive to 
01-01-2003) 

215 ILCS 155/14 IDFI $1 for each 
policy issued by 
all its agents in 
the preceding 
year $200,000 

maximum 

$3 for each 
policy issued 

by all its 
agents in the 

preceding year 
with no 

maximum 

$2,100,585* 

Consumer Installment Loan 
License Fee 

205 ILCS 670/2 IDFI $300 $450 $181,200 

Currency Exchange 
Examination Fee 

205 ILCS 405/16 IDFI $150 per day $225 per day $98,550 

    Department Totals $4,469,969 
 
*If fee increase is not retroactive to January 1, 2003, the estimated revenue would be less than half the estimated 
amount according to IDFI. 
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OFFICE OF BANKS and REAL ESTATE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Application Fee (Foreign 
Savings and Loan 
Associations) 

205 ILCS 105/2B-6 OBRE $750 $1,125 * 

Renewal Fee (Foreign 
Savings and Loan 
Associations) 

205 ILCS 105/2B-6 OBRE $200 $300 * 

Application process and 
investigative fee under the 
residential Mortgage License 
Act 

205 ILCS 635/2-2 OBRE $1,800 
annually 

$2,700 
annually 

$1,944,000 

Mortgage Broker 
Application Fee 

205 ILCS 635/2-2 OBRE $1,800 
annually 

$2,700 
annually 

See Above 

Additional Fees for License 
issuance and renewal if 
money is not received in 
timely manner 

205 ILCS 635/2-6 OBRE $500 will be 
assessed to 
the licensee 
30 days after 
the proper 

renewal date 
and $1,000 
each month 
thereafter 

$750 will be 
assessed to 
the licensee 

30 days after 
the proper 

renewal date 
and $1,500 
each month 
thereafter 

$5,000.00 

Mortgage Broker License 
renewal late fees 

205 ILCS 635/2-6 OBRE $500 assessed 
to licensee 30 

days after 
renewal date, 
and $1,000 
each month 
thereafter 

$750 assessed 
to licensee 30 

days after 
renewal date, 
and $1,500 
each month 
thereafter 

$5000.00 

Department Totals $1,954,000 
 

 
*According to the OBRE, there are no Foreign Savings and Loan organizations operating in Illinois. 
 
Comment: Many of the fee increases that fell under the OBRE are to be changed by rule and were not included in 
S.B. 1903 (P.A. 93-0032).  The Governor’s Office of Management and Budget estimates that the total increase 
from the fees changed by rule will be $23.4 million. 
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DEPT. of REVENUE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Prepayment of Motor Fuel 
Tax (Gasoline) (21) 

35 ILCS 120/ 2D DOR .04/Gallon .06/Gallon $3,600,000 

Prepayment of Motor Fuel 
Tax (Gasohol) (21) 

35 ILCS 120/ 2D DOR .03/Gallon .05/Gallon See Above 

Refund given to sellers of 
motor fuel if return is filed 
timely 

35 ILCS 505/2b DOR 2% 1.75% See Above 

Refund given to distributors 
of motor fuel if return is 
filed timely 

35 ILCS 505/6 DOR 2% 1.75% $22,500,000 

Refund given to suppliers of 
motor fuel if return is filed 
timely 

35 ILCS 505/6a DOR 2% 1.75% See Above 

Collection penalty fees 35 ILCS 735/3-
4.5 New 

DOR  $30 if the 
amount the 

taxpayer owes 
is less than 

$1,000 

$10,500 

Collection penalty fees 35 ILCS 735/3-
4.5 New 

DOR  $100 if the 
amount the 

taxpayer owes 
is more than 

$1,000 

See Above 

Penalty for failure to pay 
the tax shown due or 
required to be shown on a 
return 

35 ILCS 735/3-3 DOR 2% of any 
amount that is 
paid no later 
than 30 days 
after the due 
date, 5% of 
any amount 
that is paid 

more than 30 
days but less 
than 90 days, 
10% of any 

amount that is 
paid more 

than 90 days 
but less than 
180 days late, 

15% any 
amount over 
180 days late 

2% of any 
amount that is 
paid no later 
than 30 days 
after the due 
date, 10% of 
any amount 
that is paid 

more than 30 
days but less 
than 90 days, 
15% of any 

amount that is 
paid more than 
90 days but less 
than 180 days 
late, 20% any 
amount over 
180 days late 

$6,000,000 

Delinquent Account Fees 35 ILCS 735/3-3 DOR No later than 
30 days: 2%, 

30-90 days: 5% 
90-180 days: 

10% if 
delinquency is 

longer than 180 
days: 15% 

No later than 30 
days: 2%, 30-90 
days: 10%, 90-
180 days: 15% 

if delinquency is 
longer than 180 

days: 20% 

See Above 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Penalty for failure to file a 
return or to show in a 
timely return the full 
amount of any tax 
required to be shown due 

35 ILCS 735/3-3 DOR  5% of any 
amount of tax 
that is shown 
on a return or 

amended 
returns filed 
prior to the 

date the 
Department has 

initiated an 
audit or 

investigation. 
10% of any 

amount of tax 
that is shown 
on a returned 
or amended 

return filed on 
or after the 

date the 
Department 
initiates an 

audit or 
investigation.  
20% of any 

amount that is 
not reported on 
a return or an 

amended return 
filed prior to 
the date of 
deficiency 

See Above 

Tire User Fee 415 ILCS 5/55.8 DOR $1 per tire $2 per tire $6,200,000 
Additional tire user fee 415 ILCS 5/55.8 DOR  .50 cents per tire $3,100,000 
Discount on motor fuel for 
filing in a timely manner 

415 ILCS 
125/315 

DOR 2% thru  
June 30, 2003 

1.75% thereafter See Above 
35 ILCS 
505/2b 

Coin Operated Amusement 
Device Fee 

35 ILCS 510/1 DOR $15 $30 $1,265,750 

Department Totals $33,665,750 
Dpa r t  
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SECRETARY OF STATE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Returned Check Fee 15 ILCS 305/5.5 SOS $2 $25 $32,000 
Research Request Charge 
(Out of State Residents and 
Non-Illinois Residents) 

15 ILCS 305/5.5 SOS  $10 $300,000 

Contract Administration Fees 20 ILCS 
3105/9.02a 

SOS Not to 
exceed 1.5% 

Not to exceed 
3% 

 

Lobbyist Registration Fee 
(Persons) 

25 ILCS 170/5 SOS $50 $300 $742,500 

Lobbyist Registration Fee 
(Entities) 

25 ILCS 170/5 SOS $50 $100 $74,250 

Additional fees for 
personalized license plates 

625 ILCS 5/3-
806.5 New 

SOS  $47 for each 
set of 

personalized 
plates in 

additional to 
normal 

registration fee 
of $78 

$10,000,000 

Additional renewal fees for 
the renewal of personalized 
plates 

625 ILCS 5/3-
806.5 New 

SOS  $7 for renewal 
of each set of 
personalized 
license plates 

* 

Fees for drive away permits 625 ILCS 5/3-811 SOS $6 $10 See explanation 
Fees for one trip permits 625 ILCS 5/3-811 SOS $6 $10 See explanation 
Non-resident one trip permits 625 ILCS 5/3-811 SOS $6 $10 See explanation 
Application for a new motor 
vehicle dealers license 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $100 $1,000 * 

Fee for each additional place 
of business (new motor 
vehicle dealers) 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $50 $100 * 

Application for a new motor 
vehicle dealers license if 
received after June 15th any 
year 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $50 $500 * 

Application for a new motor 
vehicle dealers additional 
place of business license if 
received after June 15th any 
year 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $25 $50 * 

Application for a new vehicle 
dealers license fee 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $50 $1,000 * 

Fee for each additional place 
of business 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $25 $50 * 

Application for a vehicle 
dealers license after June 15th 
of any year 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $25 $500 * 

Additional fee for each 
additional place of business if 
received after June 15th 

625 ILCS 5/5-101 SOS $12.50 $25 * 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Application for a used vehicle 
dealers license 

625 ILCS 5/5-102 SOS $50 $1,000 $3,300,000 

Application fee for a used 
vehicle dealer license for 
additional locations 

625 ILCS 5/5-102 SOS $25 $50 * 

Application fee for a used 
vehicle dealers license if 
application is received after 
June 15th 

625 ILCS 5/5-102 SOS $25 $500 * 

Fee for motor vehicle 
operated by a public carrier 

625 ILCS 5/18c -
1501 

SOS $5 $15 * 

Application for a used vehicle 
dealers license for additional 
locations if received after 
June 15th 

625 ILCS 5/5-102 SOS $12.50 $25 * 

Reinstatement fee for a 
summary suspended license 

625 ILCS 5/6-118 SOS $60 $250 $4,700,000 

Reinstatement fee for a other 
type of suspended license 

625 ILCS 5/6-118 SOS $30 $70 $2,800,000 

Reinstatement fee for a 
revoked drivers license 

625 ILCS 5/6-118 SOS $60 $500 $1,400,000 

Reinstatement fee if drivers 
license has been under 
summary suspension for a 
second or subsequent time 

625 ILCS 5/6-118 SOS $250 $500 * 

Reinstatement fee if drivers 
license has been under 
revocation for a second or 
subsequent time 

625 ILCS 5/6-118 SOS $250 $500 * 

Obligors compliance fee 625 ILCS 5/7-707 SOS $30 $70 * 
Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
reinstated articles of 
organization 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $100 $200 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
merger or conversion 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $100 $200 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
articles of organization 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $50 $100 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
articles of amendment 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $50 $100 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
reinstatement 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $50 $100 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
application for admission to 
transact business 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $50 $100 1See comments 
for details 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
application for certificate of 
good standing or abstract of 
computer record 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $10 $20 1See comments 
for details 

Expedited services for limited 
liability companies for 
application for all other 
filings 

805 ILCS 180/50-
50 

SOS $25 $50 1See comments 
for details 

Fees for Limited Partnership 
certificates, certificates of 
admission, reinstated 
certificates of limited 
partnership, and reinstated 
certificates of admission 
(foreign and domestic) 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $75 $150 * 

Fees for limited partnerships 
for filing certificates 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $25 $50  

Fees for limited partnerships 
for filing amendments and 
certificates of amendments 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $25 $50 $110,000 

Fees for limited partnerships 
for filing a renewal report of 
a domes-tic or foreign limited 
partnership 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $15 $150 $310,000 

Fees for limited partnerships 
for filing for reinstatement of 
a domes-tic or foreign limited 
partnership 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $100 $200 $250,000 

Fees for limited partnerships 
for filing any other document 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS $5 $50  

Fees for limited partnerships 
for furnishing a copy or a 
certified copy of any 
document 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1102 

SOS .50 cents per 
page but not 
less than $5 
and $5 for 

the certificate 
and for 

affixing the 
seal 

$25 $10,000 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
merger or conversion 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $100 $200 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
certificate of limited 
partnerships 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $50 $100 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
certificate of amendment 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $50 $100 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
reinstatement 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $50 $100 2See comments 
from details 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
application for admission to 
transact business 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $50 $100 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
certificate of cancellation of 
admission 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $50 $100 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for expedited services 
for limited partnerships for 
certificate of existence or 
abstract of computer record 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $10 $20 2See comments 
from details 

All other expedited filings of 
can-celled limited 
partnerships 

805 ILCS 210/ 
1111 

SOS $25 $50 2See comments 
from details 

Fees for filing documents of 
incorporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $75 $150  

Filing articles of amendment 805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $25 $50 $100,000 
Filing articles of amendment 
that are a restatement of the 
articles of incorporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $100 $150  

Filing statement of change of 
address of registered office or 
change of registered agent 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $5 $25 $100,000 

Filing an application for a 
foreign business wishing to 
conduct business in this State 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $75 $150 $300,000 

Filing an amendment to 
articles of incorporation for a 
foreign cor poration 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $25 $50 * 

Filing an amendment to the 
articles of incorporation that 
is a restatement of the 
original articles of 
incorporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $100 $150 * 

Filing an annual report, 
interim annual report, or final 
transaction report for a 
foreign or domestic 
corporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $25 $75 $15,000,000 

Filing an application for the 
reinstatement of a domestic 
or foreign corporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $100 $200 $1,100,000 

Filing a statement of 
correction 

805 ILCS 5/15.10 SOS $25 $50 $300,000 

Fee for furnishing a certified 
copy of any document 

805 ILCS 5/15.15 SOS .50 cents per 
page but not 
less than $5 
and $5 for 

the certificate 
and for 

affixing the 
seal 

$25 $300,000 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Rate of franchise taxes paid 
by domestic corporations 

805 ILCS 5/15.45 SOS Annual 
franchise tax 
cannot be less 
than $25 or 
more than 

$1,000,000 per 
annum 

Annual 
franchise tax 
cannot be less 
than $25 or 
more than 
$2,000,000 
per annum 

3See 
comments for 

details 

Rate of franchise taxes paid 
by foreign corporations 

805 ILCS 5/15.75 SOS Annual 
franchise tax 
cannot be less 
than $25 or 
more than 

$1,000,000 per 
annum 

Annual 
franchise tax 
cannot be less 
than $25 or 
more than 
$2,000,000 
per annum 

3See 
comments for 

details 

Expedited service fees for 
restatement of articles 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $100 $200 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
merger, consolidation or 
exchange 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $100 $200 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
articles of incorporation 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
articles of amendment 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
revocation or dissolution 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
reinstatement 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
application for authority 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fees for 
cumulative report of changes 
in issued shares or paid in 
capitol 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 

Expedited service fee for 
report following merger or 
consolidation 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $50 $100 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fee for a 
certificate of good standing 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $10 $20 4See 
comments for 

details 
Expedited service fee for 
documents for the 3 preceding 
years 

805 ILCS 5/15.95 SOS $25 $50 4See 
comments for 

details 
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Filing articles of organization 
of limited liability companies 
(domestic), application for 
admission (foreign), and 
reinstated articles of 
organization (Domestic) 

805 ILCS 180/ 
50-10 

SOS $400 $500 * 

Fee for limited liability 
organizations for filing 
amendments for other than 
change of registered agent 
name or registered office or 
both 

805 ILCS 180/ 
50-11 

SOS $100 $150 * 

Fee for limited liability 
organizations for fling 
amendments for changing of 
registered agent name or 
registered office or both 

805 ILCS 180/ 
50-11 

SOS $25 $35 * 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on securities offered or sold 
under the Uniform Limited 
Offering Exemption 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $100 $200,000 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on the registration of a dealer 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $300 * 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on the registration and 
renewal of an investment 
advisor 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $200 * 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on the Federal covered 
investment advisor 
notification filing and annual 
notification filing 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $200 $100,000 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on the registration and 
renewal of a sales-person 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $75 $300,000 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on the registration and 
renewal of an investment 
advisor representative and a 
federal covered investment 
advisor representative 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $75 $200,000 

Amends the Illinois Securities 
Law of 1953 by charging fees 
on investment fund shares 
notification filing and annual 
notification filing 

805 ILCS 5/18.1 
New 

SOS  $800 plus $80 
for each 

series, class, 
or portfolio 

$2,700,000 

Fee for furnishing vehicle 
data, driver data to applicants 

625 ILCS 5/2-123 SOS $250 $500  
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Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 

Deposit for information 
request 

625 ILCS 5/2-
123 

SOS $25 $50  

Fee for a drivers record when 
being requested by affected 
driver or the affected drivers 
attorney 

625 ILCS 5/2-
123 

SOS $6 $12 * 

Fee for furnishing driving 
record to person or agency 

625 ILCS 5/2-
123 

SOS $6 $12 $36,000,000 

Secretary of State audit fee 625 ILCS 5/2-
124 

SOS $50 per day, 
or $25 per half 

day 

$100 per 
day, or $50 
per half day 

$100,000 

Fee for a short term permit to 
operate a non-registered first 
or second division vehicle 

625 ILCS 5/3-
403 

SOS $6 $10 $500,000 

    Department Totals $121,425,750 
 
COMMENTS: 
 
1The Office of the Secretary of State estimates that new revenue generated from fees associated with expedited 
services for limited liability companies total $800,000. 
 
2The Office of the Secretary of State estimates that new revenue generated from fees associated with expedited 
services from limited partnerships will total $83,000. 
 
3The increase in the franchise tax cap from $1 million to $2 million will generate $4,000,000 in additional 
revenue.  The Secretary of State’s Office stated that only eight Illinois companies would be affected by this. 
 
4The Office of Secretary of State estimates that new revenue generated from fees associated with expedited 

services for Business Corporations will total $2,500,000. 
 

*NOTE: The majority of revenue that will be gained from the fee increases is lumped into one category by the 
Secretary of State’s Office.  The fees in the category were mostly doubled from their past amounts.  
Many of the fees in this report for which there is no new revenue projection fall into this category.  
The Secretary of State’s Office estimates that these fees will create an additional $15 million in 
revenue. 
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ILLINOIS INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. Rev. 
Illinois Industrial Commission 
Operations Fund Surcharge 

215 ILCS 5/416 
New 

IC  1.5% of the companies 
direct premium for 
insuring employers’ 

liabilities arising under 
the Workers’ 

Compensation Act or 
Workers’ Occupational 

Disease 

$19,000,000 
 

Penalty for delinquency in 
paying the Industrial 
Commission Operating Fund 
Surcharge of $100 or more 

215 ILCS 5/416 
New 

IC  The greater of $1,000 
or an amount equal to 
5% of the deficiency 
for each month or 

part of a month that 
the deficiency remains 

unpaid 

No Estimate 
See 

Comments* 

Fee For Self-Insuring 
Employers 

820 ILCS 305/ 
4D 

IC  0.45% of employers 
annual wages 

$11,600,000 

    Department Totals $30,600,000 
 
The Department of Insurance will be the lead agency responsible for the collection of this surcharge.  The 
Department of Insurance estimates that a gross total of $31.6 million in additional revenue will be collected.  
However, retaliatory taxes from other states may reduce the amount according to the Industrial Commission to 
$19.0 million. 
 
Since the penalty is new, the Commission had no way to estimate potential revenue generated from this new 
penalty. 
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STATE TREASURER/ILLINOIS STATE POLICE 
SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 

Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 
Additional Penalty (Traffic 
Offense) 

730 ILCS 5/5-9-1 Treasurer/ISP  $4 in 
addition to 
normal fine 

$4,987,800.00 
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CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD 

SB 1903 – P.A. 93-0032 
Description Statute Agency Past Fee New Fee Est. New Rev. 

Contract Administration Fee 20 ILCS 
3105/9.029 

CDB 1.5% of the 
contract 
amount 

3% of the 
contract 
amount 

$3,500,000 

Note: Sunsets on June 30, 2004. 
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DETAILED BREAKOUT OF FUND TRANSFER 
One-Time Fund Transfers to GRF 

Fund # Fund Name Amount 
0011 Road $50,000,000 
0072 Underground Storage Tank 12,100,000 
0019 Grade Crossing Protection 6,500,000 
0569 School Technology Revolving Loan 6,000,000 
0763 Tourism Promotion 5,000,000 
0973 Build Illinois Capital Revolving Loan 5,000,000 
0286 Illinois Affordable Housing Trust 5,000,000 
0771 Digital Divide Elimination Infrastructure (No Approp.) 4,000,000 
0564 Renewable Energy Resources 3,000,000 
0031 Drivers Education 2,500,000 
0994 Illinois Agricultural Loan Guarantee (RAL Loan Guarantee) 2,500,000 
0047 Fire Prevention 2,000,000 
0262 Mandatory Arbitration 2,000,000 
0900 Petroleum Violation Fund 2,000,000 
0059 Public Utility 2,000,000 
0362 Securities Audit and Enforcement 2,000,000 
0171 Solid Waste Management Revolving Loan 2,000,000 
0018 Transportation Regulatory 2,000,000 
0613 Wireless Carrier Reimbursement 2,000,000 
0012 Motor Fuel Tax 1,535,000 
0299 Open Space Lands Acquisition and Development 1,510,000 
0205 Illinois Farmer and Agri-Business Loan Guarantee 1,500,000 
0093 Illinois State Medical Disciplinary 1,500,000 
0057 Illinois State Pharmacy Disciplinary 1,500,000 
0635 Death Certificate Surcharge 1,500,000 
0637 State Police Wireless Service Emergency 1,200,000 
0342 Audit Expense 1,000,000 
0863 Cycle Rider Safety Training 1,000,000 
0220 DCFS Children’s Services 1,000,000 
0888 Design Professional Administration 1,000,000 
0571 Energy Efficiency Trust 1,000,000 
0022 General Profession’s Dedicated 1,000,000 
0050 Mental Health 1,000,000 
0126 New Technology Recovery 1,000,000 
0962 Park and Conservation 1,000,000 
0942 Radioactive Waste Facility Development and Operation 1,000,000 
0151 Registered CPA Administration and Disciplinary 1,000,000 
0997 Insurance Financial Regulation 920,000 
0244 Savings and Residential Finance Regulatory 850,000 
0850 Real Estate License Administration 750,000 
0610 Energy Assistance Contribution 750,000 
0795 Banks and Trust 640,000 
0632 Horse Racing 630,000 
0040 State Parks 593,000 
0821 Dram Shop 560,000 
0215 Capital Development Board Revolving 500,000 
0288 Community Water Supply Lab 500,000 
0243 Credit Union 500,000 
0014 Food and Drug Safety 500,000 
0245 Fire and Exposition 500,000 
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Fund # Fund Name Amount 
0828 Hazardous Waste $500,000 
0975 Large Business Attraction 500,000 
0796 NUC Safety Emergency Preparedness 460,000 
0175 Illinois School Asbestos Abatement 400,000 
0372 Plumbing Licensure and Program 400,000 
0021 Financial Institutions 300,000 
0886 Criminal Justice Information Systems Trust 300,000 
0237 Medicaid Fraud/Abuse Prevent 270,000 
0945 Landfill Closure and Post-Close 250,000 
0156 Motor Vehicle Theft Prevention Trust 250,000 
0152 State Crime Laboratory 250,000 
0879 Traffic and Criminal Conviction Surcharge 250,000 
0067 Radiation Protection 240,000 
0085 Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement 200,000 
0536 Leads Maintenance 180,000 
0757 Child Support Administrative 170,000 
0709 Illinois Thoroughbred Breeders 160,000 
0384 Tax Compliance and Administration 150,000 
0074 EPA State Projects Trust 150,000 
0137 Plugging and Restoration 120,000 
0071 Firearm Owners Notification 110,000 
0746 Home Inspector Administration 100,000 
0574 Off-Highway Vehicle Trails 100,000 
0222 State Police DUI 100,000 
0261 Underground Resource Conservation Enforcement 100,000 
0256 Public Health Water Permit 90,000 
0246 State Police Vehicle 86,000 
0147 Coal Mining Regulatory 80,000 
0237 Medicaid Fraud/Abuse Prevent 80,000 
0986 Missing and Exploited Children Trust 53,000 
0641 Auction Regulation Administration 50,000 
0543 Comptroller’s Administrative 50,000 
0173 Emergency Planning and Training 50,000 
0750 Real Estate Audit 50,000 
0733 Tobacco Settlement Recovery 50,000 
0503 Gang Crime Witness Protection 46,000 
0708 Illinois Standardized Breeders 35,000 
0849 Real Estate Research and Education 30,000 
0535 Sex Offender Registration 21,000 
0281 Illinois Tax Increment 20,000 
0357 Child Labor Enforcement Trust 15,000 
0608 Conservation 2000 15,000 
0538 Illinois Historic Sites 15,000 
0246 State Police Vehicle 15,000 
0146 Aggregate Operation Regulatory 10,000 
0386 Appraisal Administration 10,000 
0145 Explosives Regulatory 4,000 
 TOTAL $153,923,000 
SOURCE:  SB 1903, HA #1 (P.A. 93-0032) 
Note: These transfers to the GRF were made in July 2003 and were reflected in the Commission’s July 
Monthly Revenue report. 
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STATE FINANCE REVENUES ACT 
SB 1903 -- P.A. 93-0032 

Transfer From Transfer To Amount Comment 
Communications 
Revolving Fund 

Emergency Public Health 
Fund (New) 

$3,000,000 One-time transfer for purposes in 
Section 55.6a in Environmental 

Protection Act 
GRF DHS Recoveries Trust Fund $6,800,000 FY 2004 only 

Underground Storage Tank 
Fund 

Vehicle Inspection Fund $35,000,000 FY 2004 only 

GRF Tobacco Settlement Recovery 
Fund 

$80,000,000 Will be transferred back to GRF 
by June 30, 2004 

GRF IL Military Family Relief 
Fund 

$5,000,000 FY 2004 only 

GRF Presidential Library and 
Museum Operating Fund 

$1,922,000 FY 2004 only 

GRF Budget Stabilization Fund $50,000,000 FY 2004 only 
 Income Tax Refund Fund  Annual Percentage 11.7% 

(35 ILCS 5/201 (a), (b), (1), (2), 
(3) 

 Income Tax Refund Fund  Annual Percentage 32% 
(35 ILCS 5/201 (a), (b), (6), (7), 

(8), (c), (d) 
Motor Fuel Tax Fund Transportation Regulatory 

Fund 
$2,250,000 Accounted for as part of the rail 

carrier portion to be used to pay 
the cost of administration of the 
ICC’s railroad safety program 

Motor Fuel Tax Fund Vehicle Inspection Fund $15,000,000 For administration of vehicle 
emissions inspection law 

Illinois Clean Energy 
Community Trust 

GO BR&I $125,000,000 FY 2004 only – repayment of 
bonds issued and for deposit into 
funds administered by agencies 
responsible for environmental 

activities to assist in payment for 
environmental programs 

GRF Grape & Wine Resources 
Fund 

$500,000 Was to end in FY 2004 but will 
end in FY 2003 
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STATE FINANCE REVENUES ACT 
Additional Transfers 
SB 1903 -- P.A. 93-0032 

Transfer  
From 

Transfer 
To 

Amount Comment Other 

Various Interfund 
Transfers (see SB 1903 
FY 2004 Fund Transfers 
to GRF) 

GRF $153,923,000 For FY 2004 only 
(for budget gap) 

 

Statewide Economic 
Development Fund 

GRF $4,800,000 For FY 2004 
(for budget gap) 

 

Local Government 
Distributive Fund 

GRF $6,666,666 Not a transfer exactly, GRF will 
hold this amount back from its 
transfer to LGDF in FY 2004 

 

Fire Prevention Fund GRF $2,100,000 Not a transfer exactly, GRF will 
automatically receive 50% of fees 
for certification of boilers and 
pressure vessels starting on 
10/1/2003 that would have gone into 
the Fire Prevention Fund 

Using 50% of 
FY 2003 
amount would 
give = $2.1 
million 

Feed Control Fund GRF  Not a transfer exactly, $22 of the 
$50 or $0.16 per ton annual inspect-
tion fee shall be deposited directly 
into the GRF from FY 2004 on 

 

 
 



 

 

BACKGROUND 
 

The Illinois Economic and Fiscal Commission, a bipartisan, joint legislative 
commission, provides the General Assembly with information relevant to the Illinois 
economy, taxes and other sources of revenue and debt obligations of the State.  The 
Commission's specific responsibilities include: 
 

1) Preparation of annual revenue estimates with periodic updates; 
 
2) Analysis of the fiscal impact of revenue bills; 
 

3) Preparation of "State Debt Impact Notes" on legislation which would 
appropriate bond funds or increase bond authorization; 

 
4) Periodic assessment of capital facility plans; and 
 
5) Annual estimates of the liabilities of the State's group health 

insurance program and approval of contract renewals promulgated by 
the Department of Central Management Services. 

 
The Commission also has a mandate to report to the General Assembly ". . . on 
economic trends in relation to long-range planning and budgeting; and to study and 
make such recommendations as it deems appropriate on local and regional economic 
and fiscal policies and on federal fiscal policy as it may affect Illinois. . . ."  This 
results in several reports on various economic issues throughout the year. 
 
The Commission publishes two primary reports.  The "Revenue Estimate and 
Economic Outlook" describes and projects economic conditions and their impact on 
State revenues.  "The Illinois Bond Watcher" examines the State's debt position as well 
as other issues directly related to conditions in the financial markets.  The Commission 
also periodically publishes special topic reports that have or could have an impact on 
the economic well being of Illinois. 
 
These reports are available from: 
 
Illinois Economic and Fiscal Commission 
703 Stratton Office Building 
Springfield, Illinois  62706 
(217) 782-5320 
(217) 782-3513 (FAX) 
 
Reports can also be accessed from our Webpage: 

 
http://www.legis.state.il.us/commission/ecfisc/ecfisc_home.html 


