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__________________________________________________________________ 
 
FISCAL IMPACT:  According to the Public Pension Division of the Illinois 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, the Glen Carbon police 
pension fund had a funding ratio of 65.7% as of March 6, 2008.  HB 5156 
should not have any fiscal impact on the pension fund. 
__________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
SUBJECT MATTER:  HB 5156 allows a police officer who was excluded from participation 
in the Glen Carbon police pension fund by reason of his or her failure to make written 
application to the board within 3 months of his or her first appointment or reappointment to 
elect to participate in the fund 
 
 
FISCAL IMPACT:  According to the Public Pension Division of the Illinois Department of 
Financial and Professional Regulation, the Glen Carbon police pension fund had a funding 
ratio of 65.7% as of March 6, 2008. HB 5156 should not have any fiscal impact on the pension 
fund. 
 
 
COMMENT:  Currently, the Pension Code stipulates that membership in a Downstate Police 
(Article 3) pension fund is contingent upon becoming a sworn police officer in a municipality 
that has established such a fund.  The police officer must, within 3 months of his or her first 
appointment or reappointment, make a written application to the board of trustees of the 
pension fund in order to establish membership in the police pension fund.   
 
HB 5156 allows a police officer who was excluded from participation in the Glen Carbon 
police pension fund by reason of his or her failure to make written application to the board 
within 3 months of his or her first appointment or reappointment to elect to participate in the 
fund.  The police officer must make a written application to the board no later than January 1, 
2009, and shall begin participation on the first day of the month following the month in which 
the application is received by the board. 
 
HB 5156 amends the State Mandates Act to require implementation without reimbursement. 
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