SENATE

Jeffrey M. Schoenberg Co-Chair

> Michael Frerichs Matt Murphy Suzi Schmidt Dave Syverson Donne Trotter

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dan R. Long



State of Illinois COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENT FORECASTING AND ACCOUNTABILITY

703 Stratton Ofc. Bldg., Springfield, IL 62706 217/782-5320 Fax: 217/782-3513

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/cgfa2006/home.aspx

HOUSE
Patricia R. Bellock
Co-Chair

Elaine Nekritz Raymond Poe Al Riley Mike Tryon

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

Trevor J. Clatfelter

AGENDA

Purpose: State Facility Closure Act Hearing

Tamms Correctional Center

April 2, 2012; 12:00 pm

Shawnee Community College, 8364 Shawnee College Rd., Ullin, IL 62992

I. Call to Order

- 1. Co-Chair Senator Jeffrey Schoenberg
- 2. Co-Chair Representative Patricia Bellock

II. State of Illinois Executive Branch Officials

- 1. Illinois Department of Corrections
 - a. S. A. Godinez, Director
 - b. Bryan Gleckler, Chief Financial Officer
 - c. Anne McElroy, Chief of Labor Relations
- 2. Governor's Office of Management and Budget
 - a. Austin Baidas, Associate Director

III. Elected Officials

- 1. Gary Forby, Senator, 59th District
- 2. Brandon Phelps, Representative, 118th District
- 3. Carol Mitchell, Village President, Village of Tamms
- 4. Jim Cross, Mayor, City of Anna
- 5. Lamar Houston, Vice Mayor, Village of Tamms
- 6. Don Denny, Commissioner, Union County Board
- 7. Mike Caldwell, Chairman, Alexander County Board of Commissioners
- 8. Monte Russell, Chairman, Pulaski County Board of Commisioners
- 9. Janet Ulrich, Superintendent, Regional Office of Education District #02

IV. Advocacy Organizations

1. David C. Fathi, Director, ACLU National Prison Project

- 2. Debra Erenberg, Midwest Regional Director, Amnesty International USA
- 3. Alan Mills, Uptown People's Law Center
- 4. Jean Maclean Snyder, Concerned Prisoner's Rights Attorney
- 5. Laurie Jo Reynolds, Organizer, Tamms Year Ten
- 6. Professor Stephen F. Eisenman, Tamms Year Ten
- 7. Claire Leslie, Coordinator, Midwest Coalition for Human Rights
- 8. Brian Nelson, Paralegal, Uptown People's Law Center

V. Employee Organizations, Unions and Associations

- 1. Henry Bayer, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31
- 2. Jason Woolard, Southern Illinois Central Labor Council
- 3. William Thurston, Chair, Southern Illinois AFL-CIO COPE
- 4. Toby Oliver, President, AFSCME Local 2758
- 5. Gerald W. Raines, Acting President, Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge #263
- 6. Dale Ridgway, President, AFSCME Local 501
- 7. Michael Stout, Business Manager, ISEA Laborers' Local 2002
- 8. John Blance, Member, ISEA Laborers' Local 2002
- 9. Brian Kuder, Member, ISEA Laborers' Local 2002

VI. Former Prisoners and Family Members 1

Brian Nelson
 Rose Sifuentes

Robert Felton
 Lori Davis-Hood

3. Darrell Cannon 7. Janice Burnom

4. Johnnie Walton 8. Brenda Smith

VII. Corrections Professionals

- 1. Larry Mizel, IDOC, Director, retired
- 2. George Welborn, Tamms Warden, retired
- 3. Rick Bard, IDOC Chief of Operations, retired
- 4. Joseph Ponte, Commissioner, Maine Department of Corrections

VIII. Business

- 1. Rex Wilburn, Board President, Southernmost Illinois Delta Empowerment Zone
- 2. Amy Cox, Executive Director, Southernmost Illinois Delta Empowerment Zone
- 3. Clint Green, Executive Director, Pulaski County Development Association
- 4. Chris Boyd, Vice President Member Services, Sothern IL Electric Coop and Executive VP, Southwater

IX. Community Organizations and Other Interested Parties

- 1. Michael C. Batinski, Southern Illinois Quakers
- 2. Heather Rice, Director of U.S. Prisons Policy and Program, National Religious Campaign Against Torture (NRCAT)

- 3. Elsie M. Speck
- 4. Father Jerome Fortenberry
- 5. Warren Mitchell
- 6. Mark Minor
- 7. Cecile Harbison
- 8. Dr. Tim Bellamey, Vice-President, Shawnee Community College

X. Employees

- 1. Michael Mcclelland, Lieutenant
- 2. Randall Clark, Lieutenant
- 3. Stan Patton, Correctional Officer, retired
- 4. Dr. Marvin Powers, Medical Director
- 5. Chip Markel, Chief of Security, retired
- 6. Robert DuBois, retired

XI. Family Members 2

- 1. Herman Townsend
- 2. April Sanchez
- 3. Rolanda Aden-Hussey
- 4. Annette Franklin

- 5. Grace Warren
- 6. Janice Pohlman
- 7. Annette Thigpen
- 8. Hector Delgado

XII. Public Comments

XIII. Old Business

XIV. New Business

XV. Announcements – Future Facility Closure Hearings

- 1. IYC-Joliet, April 4th, 10:00 a.m., Renaissance Center, Joliet
- 2. Dwight Correctional Center, April 4th, 4:00 p.m., Dwight High School
- 3. Westside ATC, April 10th, 10:00 a.m., Bilandic Building
- 4. Tinley Park MHC, April 10th, 3:00 p.m., South Suburban College
- 5. Murray Developmental Center, April 20th, 3:00 p.m. Centralia High School

XVI. Adjournment