#### **SENATE**

Jeffrey M. Schoenberg Co-Chair

> Michael Frerichs Matt Murphy Suzi Schmidt Dave Syverson Donne Trotter

#### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

Dan R. Long



# **State of Illinois** COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENT FORECASTING AND ACCOUNTABILITY

703 Stratton Ofc. Bldg., Springfield, IL 62706 217/782-5320 Fax: 217/782-3513

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/cgfa2006/home.aspx

**HOUSE** Patricia R. Bellock Co-Chair

Kevin McCarthy Elaine Nekritz Raymond Poe Al Riley Mike Tryon

#### DEPUTY DIRECTOR

Trevor J. Clatfelter

# **AGENDA**

**Purpose: State Facility Closure Act Hearing Chester Mental Health Center** 

October 12, 2011; 4:00 pm Chester High School, 1901 Swanwick St., Chester, IL 62233

#### I. Call to Order and Summary of State Facility Closure Act:

1. Co-Chairs Senator Jeffrey Schoenberg and Representative Patricia Bellock

#### II. **State of Illinois Executive Branch Officials:**

- 1. Illinois Department of Human Services
  - a. Michelle R.B. Saddler, Secretary
  - b. Grace Hou, Assistant Secretary
  - c. Lorrie Rickman Jones, Ph.D., Director of Mental Health
  - d. Robert Brock, Budget Director
  - e. Jeff Kunz, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Labor Relations
  - f. Michael Pelletier, Director of Special Projects, Division of Mental Health
- 2. Governor's Office of Management and Budget
  - a. David Vaught, Director

#### III. **Elected Officials:**

- 1. David Luechtefeld, State Senator, 58th District
- 2. Jerry Costello II, State Representative, 116th District
- 3. Joe Eggemeyer, Mayor, City of Chester

#### IV. **Employee Organizations, Unions and Associations:**

- 1. Henry Bayer, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31
- 2. Matthew Grau, President, AFSCME Local 424
- 3. Jason Woolard, Southern Illinois Central Labor Council
- 4. William Thurston, Chair, Southern Illinois AFL-CIO COPE
- 5. Rick Lezu, Staff Representative, Illinois Nurses' Associaiton

6. Logan Roche, Business Agent, Carpenters Union

# V. Health Organizations

- 1. Steve Hayes, Administrator, Memorial Hospital
- 2. Joann Emge, Administrator, Sparta Community Hospital
- 3. Shane Watson, Administrator, Red Bud Regional Hospital
- 4. Gary Buatte, Executive Director, Human Service Center

# VI. Advocacy Organizations

- 1. Mark Rudolph, Executive Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness Southwestern Illinois
- 2. Cheryl Jansen, Legislative Policy Director, Equip for Equality
- 3. AJ French, Executive Director, Sacred Creations

## VII. Business

- 1. Christopher Martin, Economic Development Coordinator, Randolph County
- 2. Tom Welge, President, Chester Chamber of Commerce
- 3. Michael Franklin, Regional Vice President, Frontier Star

# VIII. Employees

- 1. Joseph L. Harper, Clinical Social Worker
- 2. Dr. Tom Holt, Psychologist III

# 3. About Mental Illness and our Population

- a. Nageswararao Vallabhenaneni, Psychiatrist
- b. Rhonda Wilson, Registered Nurse
- c. Michael Fogerson, Chaplain/Pastor, First Baptist Chester Church

# 4. CMHC - Facility Specific Information

- a. Eric Vana, RN 1
- b. Wayne Womac, Psychologist
- c. Dr. Susan Carr, Physician
- d. David Dunker, Retired Administrative Assistant
- e. Tim Koeneman, STA I
- f. John Greatting, STA I
- g. Brenda Shemoney, LPN/STA I
- h. Leah Hammel, RN/Infection Control Coordinator
- i. Emily Bollmann, LCSW, Social Worker IV
- j. Deb Rathert, RN-INA Union President
- k. Mike Parker, Public Service Administrator
- 1. Lisa Morgan, Dietary Supervisor

#### 5. Patient Perspective

a. Shirley Shaw, Social Worker

### 6. Impact on Patient after Closures

a. Maria Maldonado, Psychologist

### 7. Violent Patients/Injured Staff

- a. Vanessa Broussard, LCSW PSA
- b. Mary Cometto, STA I
- c. Norman Grau, STA
- d. Cindy Welton, STA II
- e. Dennis Hopkins, STA I
- f. Sandy Schwartz, Retired STA
- g. Mark Troue, Training Coordinator

# 8. Impact on Community

- a. Jeff Cripps
- b. Lila Lee, Social Worker II
- c. Patty Eggemeyer, Support Service Worker

### 9. Impact on Staff and their Families

- a. Arlene Hill, Former Human Rights Coordinator
- b. Jeannie Grau, Lab Technician
- c. Nancy Homan, Retired RN
- d. Rebecca Kempfer, Office Assistant
- e. Felecia Rucker, Executive Secretary
- f. Debra Franklin, Dental Hygienist

# 10. Response to Facility Issues Identified by DHS/Governor

- a. Pam Deterding, Human Resource Specialist
- b. Rose Dethrow, Chief Engineer

#### 11. Facility Physical Plant Information

- a. Bill Gross, Plumber
- b. Darrell Crum, Plumber

### 12. Facility Statistical Information

- a. Scott Rubach, STA I
- b. Melody Schoeppel, Office Associate
- c. Jim Draves, STA I
- d. Steven Newbold, Dentist

# IX. General Public Comments

- 1. Patsie Hopkins
- 2. Brenda Owen, Principal, St. John Lutheran School
- 3. Michael Howie
- 4. Judith Bukowski

- X. Old Business
- XI. New Business
- XII. Adjournment