Commission on Government Forecasting and Accountability
C.D. Davidsmeyer, Co-Chair
David Koehler, Co-Chair
Skip Navigation Links
Meeting Information
October 5, 2011 Meeting Agenda and Audio
Initial Notice Posted on September 22, 2011
H.Douglas Singer MHC Agenda October 5, 2011


Purpose: State Facility Closure Act Hearing
Illinois Department of Human Services - H. Douglas Singer Mental Health Center Closure

October 5, 2011; 4:30 p.m.
U of I Rockford School of Medicine, 1601 Parkview Ave., Rockford, IL 61107

  1. Call to Order by Commission Co-Chairmen
         Senator Jeffrey M. Schoenberg / Representatitive Patricia Bellock

  2. State of Illinois Executive Branch Officials
    1. Illinois Department of Human Services
      1. Michelle R.B. Saddler, Secretary
      2. Grace Hou, Assistant Secretary
      3. Lorrie Rickman Jones, Ph.D., Director of Mental Health
      4. Robert Brock, Budget Director
      5. Jeff Kunz, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Labor Relations
      6. Michael Pelletier, Director of Special Projects, Division of Mental Health
    2. Governor's Office of Management and Budget:
      1. David Vaught, Director
  3. Elected Officials & City/Village Representatives
    1. Dave Syverson, State Senator, 34th District
    2. Charles Jefferson, State Representative, 67th District
    3. Dick Meyers, Sheriff, Winnebago County
  4. Health Organizations
    1. Swedish American Hospital
      1. Dr. Evan Silvi
      2. Greg Parker
      3. Penny Powers
      4. Rhonda Bergstrom
      5. Ellen Goldsworthy
      6. Dr. Reginald Givens

    2. Rockford Health System
      1. Deanna Murray
      2. Eve Zahrndt

    3. OSF St. Anthony's Hospital
      1. Dave Shertz, Administrator
  5. Employee Organizations, Unions and Associations
    1. Employee Unions
      1. Henry Bayer, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31
      2. Linda Fleming, President, AFSCME Local 3362
      3. Dominic Castanza, Business Manager, Laborers' Local #32

    2. Singer Mental Health Center Employees
      1. Bob Isral, Psychologist
      2. Maurice Bowdry, Social Worker
      3. Dr. Farrah Pathan, Psychiatrist
      4. Linda Cobler, RN
      5. Dennis Kurz, Social Worker
      6. Terry Meacham, Social Worker
      7. William Wood
  6. Advocacy Organizations and General Public Comments
    1. Advocacy Organizations
      1. Dick Kunnert, President, Mental Health Association of the Rock River Valley
      2. Lora Thomas, National Alliance on Mental Illness - Illinois
      3. Cheryl Jansen, Legislative Director, Equip for Equality
      4. Christopher Skene, University of Chicago, Mental Health Summit

    2. General Public Comments
      1. Reverend Douglas Bowden, Beth Eden United Methodist Church
      2. Pastor Brian LeBaron, Lena United Methodist Church
      3. Lynda Shiro, Highland Community College, Nursing Instructor

  7. Old Business
  8. New Business
  9. Adjournment


Written Testimony

Meeting audio may be downloaded by using a right click on the audio icon and "Saving As". To listen, you must have a media player already installed, otherwise, download and install one from the following link.