Commission on Government Forecasting and Accountability
C.D. Davidsmeyer, Co-Chair
David Koehler, Co-Chair
Skip Navigation Links
Meeting Information
October 17, 2011 Meeting Agenda and Audio
Initial Notice Posted on September 29, 2011
Jack Mabley Developmental Center Agenda October 17, 2011


Purpose: State Facility Closure Act Hearing
Illinois Department of Human Services - Jack Mabley Developmental Center Closure

October 17, 2011; 5:00 p.m.
Dixon Theatre, 114 South Galena Avenue, Dixon, IL

  1. Call to Order:
    1. Co-Chair Senator Jeffrey M. Schoenberg
    2. Co-Chair Representative Patricia Bellock
  2. State of Illinois Executive Branch Officials
    1. Governor's Office of Management and Budget:
      1. David Vaught, Director

    2. Illinois Department of Human Services
      1. Michelle R.B. Saddler, Secretary
      2. Grace Hou, Assistant Secretary
      3. Kevin Casey, Director, Division of Developmental Disabilities
      4. Robert Brock, Budget Director
      5. Greg Fenton, Deputy Director for State Operated Facilities
      6. Jeff Kunz, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Labor Relations
  3. Elected Officials
    1. Tim Bivins, State Senator, 45th District
    2. Jerry L. Mitchell, State Representative, 90th District
    3. Jim Burke, Mayor, City of Dixon
    4. Tom Demmer, Member, Lee County Board
  4. Proponents of Closure
    1. Barbara Pritchard, Community for All Coalition
    2. Scott Nance, Community Organizer, ADAPT
    3. Karen I. Ward, Equip for Equality
  5. Employee Organizations, Unions and Associations
    1. Henry Bayer, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31
    2. Ken Diehl, Business Manager, Laborers Union Local 727
    3. Bob Logan, President, AFSCME Local 1268
  6. Business
    1. John Thompson, President, Dixon Chamber of Commerce
    2. Jerry Ickes, Housekeeper, Village of Progress
  7. Family Members and Guardians 1
    1. Cindy Black
    2. Barbara Achino
    3. Joseph Achino
    4. Mary Riley
    5. Kevin Riley
    6. Tom Riley
    7. Nicolas DeLeoardis
    8. Mary Michelle Scalise
    9. Barbara Benson
    10. Michelle Cooney
    11. Marie Boldt
  8. Advocacy Organizations
    1. Diana Braun, Member, Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities
    2. Sheila Romano, Executive Director, Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities
    3. Ruth Thompson, Executive Director, Coalition of Citizens with Disabilities of Illinois
    4. Amber Smock, Director of Advocacy, Access Living
    5. Rita Burke, Illinois League of Advocates for the Developmentally Disabled
    6. Wayne Peterson, Illinois League of Advocates for the Developmentally Disabled
    7. Donna Fellows, Pegasus Special Riders

  9. Family Members and Guardians 2
    1. Christine Nashold
    2. Suzanne Tournier
    3. Angela Childers
    4. Theora Osborne
    5. Paulette Finnegan
    6. Vicki Wahlheim
    7. Barb Benson
    8. David McCrery
    9. Michelle Cooney
    10. Shannon Cisko
  10. Employees
    1. Dr. Erin Wade
    2. Lynette Roach
    3. Eric Peterson
    4. Deb Muhlstabt
    5. Elaine Lee
    6. Linda LeBlanc

  11. Community Organizations and Other Interested Parties
    1. Father Michael Morrisey, St. Anne's Parish
    2. Mary Scalise
    3. Matt Toohey
    4. Bruce Kleinmaier, Knights of Columbus
    5. Pastor Rachel Cocar, First Baptist Church
    6. Ted Dunphy
  12. General Public Comments
  13. Old Business
  14. New Business
  15. Adjournment


Testimony and Records of Appearance

Meeting audio may be downloaded by using a right click on the audio icon and "Saving As". To listen, you must have a media player already installed, otherwise, download and install one from the following link.